Liquor and Gaming

Responsible Service of Alcohol Training

It is mandatory for certain people involved in Queensland’s liquor industry to have a current Responsible Service of Alcohol (RSA) statement of attainment issued for successful completion of the RSA training course, conducted by an Office of Liquor and Gaming Regulation (OLGR) approved trainer. Licensees, management and those employed are required to hold RSA.

RSA training provides skills in handling difficult situations, how to recognise signs of intoxication and strategies to slow or moderate the supply of alcohol and how to refuse service.

All licensees must ensure the following people have a current RSA statement of attainment, within 30 days of commencing employment:

• The licensee (if an individual)

• Any member of staff of the licensed premises who is
involved in the service or supply of liquor at the premises.

Staff members involved in the service or supply of liquor include approved managers, bartenders, glass collectors, floor staff, security staff and room service staff.

As a competency within a national training package, a SITHFAB002 Provide responsible service of alcohol course may only be delivered by a registered training organisation.

Responsible Management of Licensed Venues

It is mandatory for liquor licensees (if individuals), approved managers and some permit holders to have a current Responsible Management of Licensed Venues (RMLV) certificate.

Licensees (or permit holders) must ensure all approved managers maintain currency of a Responsible Management of Licensed Venue (RMLV) ‘licensee’s course certificate’ issued by an approved trainer.

The RMLV training course certificate is valid for three years. It is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure approved managers working at the premises have a copy of a current certificate as detailed.

Responsible Service of Gambling

Since 1 October 2010, it has been mandatory for certain people involved in Queensland’s gaming industry to have a current Responsible Service of Gambling (RSG) course certificate.

Trained employees are able to identify the signs of problem gambling, provided with skills to handle difficult situations and apply the principles of the Queensland Responsible Gambling Code of Practice. Trained employees are aware of the legal obligations and ramifications associated with the service of gambling products, which not only assists licensees comply with the legislation, but minimise the potential for harm associated with gambling to individuals and the broader community. People who carry out gaming duties or gaming tasks within a licensed club or hotel must complete RSG training within three months of starting employment.

Since 1 July 2013 the training course certificate recognised for having completed mandatory RSG training required by the Gaming Machine Act 1991 is a VET Statement of Attainment in SITHGAM001 Provide responsible gambling services

Workplace Health & Safety

Workplace Health & Safety Queensland

Workplace Health and Safety Queensland (WHSQ) is
responsible for improving workplace health and safety in
Queensland and helping reduce the risk of workers being
killed or injured on the job. WHSQ enforces work health and
safety laws, investigates workplace fatalities, serious injuries
prosecutes breaches of legislation and educates employees
and employers on their legal obligations. WHSQ also provides
policy advice on workers’ compensation matters.

Marine Safety

Maritime Safety Queensland

Maritime Safety Queensland (MSQ) is responsible for protecting Queensland’s waterways and the people who use them – providing safer, cleaner seas. MSQ is also responsible for delivering a range of services on behalf of the national regulator (the Australian Maritime Safety Authority) under the Marine Safety (Domestic Commercial Vessel) National Law Act 2012.

The national system arrangements are implemented together with Maritime Safety Queensland’s state marine legislative responsibilities.

The Australian Maritime Safety Authority

The Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) is a statutory  authority established under the Australian Maritime Safety  Authority Act 1990 (the AMSA Act). AMSA’s principal functions are:

• Promoting maritime safety and protection of the marine environment

• Preventing and combating ship-sourced pollution in the marine environment

• Providing infrastructure to support safety of navigation in Australian waters

• Providing a national search and rescue service to the maritime and aviation sectors.


Entry level requirements exist for all people working on commercial tourism vessels such as:

• Elements of Shipboard Safety

• First Aid

• Oxygen Provider / CPR

• RMDL (Tender Licence)

A commercial marine licence is required to operate a commercial tourism vessel.


Individual – Class 1

• Bodyguard – providing close personal protection services.

• Private investigator – obtaining and providing information about another person without their consent, such as surveillance work or investigating the disappearance of a missing person.

Crowdcontroller-maintaining order in and around a public place such as a hotel or sporting event.

• Cash transit security officer – carrying cash or other valuables.

• Unarmed security officer – guarding, patrolling or watching another person’s property, without a guard dog or weapon.

• Monitoring security officer – monitoring property using an electronic monitoring device, such as a visual recording system, a radio or remote alarm system.

• Dog patrol security officer – guarding, patrolling or watching another person’s property, with a guard dog.

Individual – Class 2

• Security adviser – providing advice about security equipment, methods or principles.

• Security equipment installer – installing, repairing, servicing or maintaining security equipment

For more information on Security Licensing, go to: regulated-industriesand
regulated- industries-and-licensing/regulated-industrieslicensing
and-legislation/security- industry-regulation/geta-